Medir bassoon cane

Several years ago I bought six dulcian reeds direct from Medir in Catalonia (Spain). The reeds were so good that since then I’ve been meaning to try some of the modern bassoon cane.

Finally took the plunge!

I’m play testing the first three reeds from a batch of gouged/shaped/profiled cane (Rieger 1A shape) and I’m very pleased. I notice that the cane is a bit hard but the sound is even and full up and down the range. Maybe the profile is thicker than usual for me–with medium density cane–but, I could always try re-profiling.

With any new cane, shape, etc., there is a learning curve. I cut the reeds to 57 mm overall length, that’s 30 mm from the front of the first wire to the tip, and finished the tips with my Rieger tip profiler (factory taper). On one of the three reeds I’ve worked on the back of the blades and sanded a little overall to get the pitch and response where it should be. All three new reeds respond very nicely with breath attacks at the top of the staff (a, b-flat, b, c). The forked e-flat is in tune without the help of the right hand. I think I’m not in a hurry to coax rich and noisy vibration out of these reeds yet, but with more sanding I’m sure I could get there. For now, it’s probably best to let the reeds settle down before further adjustments. Expect updates on the Medir cane story in the coming weeks.

Update: I’ve noticed that the Medir G/S/P profile is a bit heavy in the back. I usually aim for .030 inches at the collar. The Medir cane I got was on average .037 inches at the collar. I previously mentioned re-profiling, but I think it will work to file/sand the back of the profiled blade to get it down closer to .030 inches. That way, if this cane works better with a slightly thicker profile (say, .032 inches), I won’t miss it!?!

This entry was posted in Bassoon. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Medir bassoon cane

  1. Carter Eggers says:

    Hi, David,

    I think it’s amazing that you make your own reeds, I do realize that it is an art all itself. Sadly, I resorted to fiber cane ones when I was a band director. That’s really a tough problem if you’re out in the boonies as I was.

    Carter

    On Tue, Mar 21, 2017 at 8:46 PM, Dr. Pierce’s Bassoon Studio wrote:

    > Dr. Pierce posted: “Several years ago I bought six dulcian reeds direct > from Medir in Catalonia (Spain). The reeds were so good that since then > I’ve been meaning to try some of the modern bassoon cane. Finally took the > plunge! I’m play testing the first three reeds from a ” >

  2. Rebecca says:

    Did you get the cane from the guy on eBay I purchased my reed making tools from?

  3. Rebecca says:

    Did you get the cane from the guy on eBay that I purchased my reed tools from?

Leave a Reply

